PJBell.com    

   

 PJBell.com       | Technology | Projects | About | Services | FAQ | News | Contact
 
LEDS

Home
Technology
-Clean Coal
-Construction
-Energy Store
-Fuels

-Fuel Cells
-LED's
-Manufacturing
-Solar
-Communication

-Transport
-Flying Cars
-Farming
Projects
About
Services
FAQ
News
Contact

 


The on-line presence of
Peter Bell

 
    


Light Emitting Diodes

The newest designs of WLED (White Light Emitting Diodes) provide about 3.6 lumens per diode and about 130 lumens per watt, with an approximate lifetime of about 100,000 hours, so should be able to provide excellent lighting. 

WLED lights can produce excellent light, draw only approximately 1.5 watts, are extremely rugged and can run for approximately 100,000 hours, or 30 to 40 years in normal service.

Light Comparison Table LED's vs Kerosene and Incandescent illumination 

(Information care of Light Up the World Foundation - http://www.lutw.org)

Lamp Type
Homemade Kerosene
Incandescent
Compact Fluorescent
WLED
Efficiency
(Lumens/watt)
0.03
5 - 18
30 - 79
25 - 50
Rated Life (Hours)
Supply of Kerosene
1000
6500 - 15,000
50,000
Durability
Fragile & Dangerous
Very Fragile
Very Fragile
Durable
Power Consumption
0.04 - 0.06 liters/hour
5W
4W
1W
CCT K
~ 1800
2652
4200
5000
CRI
~ 80
98
62
82
$ After 50,000 hours
$1,251
$175
$75
$20

Carbon emissions

As an interesting aside, fuel-based lighting in the developing world is a source of 244 Million tons of carbon dioxide emissions to the atmosphere each year, or 58% of the CO2 emissions from residential electric lighting. 

WLED lighting powered by renewable energy replaces fuel-based lighting thus reducing greenhouse gas emissions responsible for climate change. LUTW (Light up the World Foundation) estimates that by replacing kerosene lamps with modern lighting technology reduces CO2 emissions by approximately 130 kg per household.


LED Links

Alan Chen's suggestions for WLED applications - http://www.lbl.gov/Science-Articles/Archive/EETD-diode-lighting.html
AccuLux Rechargeable LED - http://www.acculux.de
Acculux review - http://ledmuseum.home.att.net/acculux.htm
Best Hong Kong LED's - http://www.besthongkong.com
Cardo Optics Plastic LED Lens mnf - http://www.carclo-optics.co.uk
Chinese LED's - http://www.hebeiltd.com.cn/?p=led.diode
Cecol LED's - http://www.cecol.com
Celsia LED Nano Tech Cooling - http://www.celsiatechnologies.com
Cree LED's (Durham, NC & WiMax) - http://www.cree.com
DOE - Solid State Light Research - http://www.netl.doe.gov/ssl/
Don Klipstein's Web Site - http://members.misty.com/don/index.html
Earth LED - First Commercial LEDs - http://www.earthled.com
ETG LED Lamps - http://www.etgtech.com
Ever LED - Florescent Tube LED replacement - http://www.everled.com
Flashlight News - http://www.flashlightnews.org
Flashlight Reviews - http://www.flashlightreviews.com
Nitepalm - http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/nitepalm_fieldlamp.htm
GBL Emergency LED's - http://www.gbl-led.com
Golden Gadgets - http://www.goldengadgets.com
Illumitex High Lumen and no optic LEDs. - http://www.illumitex.com
Ignite Innovations manf Solar powered WLED lanterns -
http://www.igniteinnovations.com

Korean Display Technology Photo Luminescent Film - http://www.kdtdisplay.com
LED Central - LED Portal - http://www.ledcentral.com
LED Center - LED Portal - http://led.linear1.org
LED Museum - http://ledmuseum.home.att.net
LED Magazine - http://ledsmagazine.com
LED Market Place - http://www.ledmarketplace.com
LED Light Fixtures (Raleigh, NC) - http://www.ledlightingfixtures.com
LED Professional - http://www.led-professional.com
LED Wholesaler - http://www.ledtronics.com
Lemnis Lighting 40watt LED - http://www.lemnislighting.com
Light Design Software - http://www.lighting-technologies.com
Lynk Labs AC/LED's - http://www.lynklabs.com
Lite Light - Small LED on a 9v battery - http://www.lite-light.net
Lighting Components Corp - http://www.lc-led.com
Lighting Science Group (Dallas, TX) - http://www.lsgc.com
Lumex LED's - http://www.lumex.com
Mellert Rechargeable LED - http://www.mellert.de
NeoPac Lighting - http://www.neopac-lighting.com
Next Generation Lighting Alliance - http://www.nglia.org
Nichia LED's - http://www.nichia.com
OptiLED - LED Lamps - http://www.optiled.biz
Osram LED's - http://www.osram-os.com
Peak LED Solutions - http://www.peakledsolutions.net
PolyBrite Unbreakable Directional Polymers- - http://www.polybrite.com
PolyBrite (Westinghouse Website) - http://www.w-led.com
Westinghouse Nanoluxs LED Web site- http://www.westinghouselightbulbs.com/nanoluxled/index.html
Phillips Lumileds on-line  - http://www.lumiledsfuture.com
Phillips Lumileds LED's - http://www.lumileds.com
Snap Power - Illuminated Power Sockets - http://www.snappower.com/
Solar Airport Lighting - http://www.solarairportlights.com
Solid State Light Portal - http://www.solidstatelighting.net
Swiss Solar Rechargeable LED Light - http://www.skylight-swiss.com
Sylvania LED's - http://www.sylvanialed.ca
Sylvania Main Page - http://www.sylvania.com

Sun Brite LED - http://www.sunbriteleds.com
Stanford Project on WLED lanterns -
http://www.gsb.stanford.edu/news/headlines/led_lamps.shtml
TerLep Lamps (OMNI Directional Lens) - http://www.terleplamp.com

Toyoda-Gosei LED's - http://www.toyoda-gosei.com


Manufacturing

Chi-Ming (LED Manf China) - http://www.chi-ming.com
Golden Moon (LED Manf China) - http://www.goldenmoon-led.com
Hwan Chyun (Bat Charger Manf China - http://www.ph-charger.com.tw
LED Light Bulb (LED Manf China) - http://www.ledlightbulb.net

LED Specialists (Prototype manf) - http://www.ledspecialists.com
Lotus QJM (LED Manf China) - http://www.lotusqjm.com
Lucky Light LED (Manf China) - http://www.lucky-light.com

Kena Industry - (LED Manf China) - Http://www.knled.com
Manufacturers Portal - http://www.manufacturers.com.tw/electronics/Led-Manufacturer.html
Mason LED (Manf China) - http://www.mason-led.com
Rapid Prototyping - http://www.stratasys.com

Urethane Soy System - Soy Plastic - http://www.soyoyl.com
Soy based Plastic - http://www.soyworkscorporation.com
Terra Lux (Prototypers, Boulder, CO) - http://www.terralux.biz
Yajiayu Electronics (LED Manf China) - http://www.yajiayu.com
YILIU Electronics (LED Manf Chaina) - http://www.yl-led.com
 

Product Testing

Met Labs (UL and Met Testing) - http://www.metlabs.com
SGS (UL and Met Testing) - http://www.sgs.com
UL Under Writers Laboratory  - http://www.ul.com

Generators

Brushless Alternator / Starter - http://ecycle.com
Inflatable balloon wind turbine - http://www.magenn.com

 

   PJBell.com

2007 PJBell.com all rights reserved.